Smallest States In The World - Check This List
Travel Tips

Smallest States In The World – Check This List

Here is a list of the Smallest States in the world. This list does not include the territory.

1. Vatican City

Vatican City with an area of 0.44 km2 with and a population of about 800 inhabitants of whom is a permanent citizen it is the first of the smallest states in the world. The Vatican is located within Rome in Italy and was built in 1929 Lateran Treaty as successor to the once powerful and great Papal States. The Vatican’s electoral monarchy is led by the Bishop of Rome – the Pope. Vatican City is the center of the Catholic Church and its leader Pope and has an independent administration, judiciary, and foreign policy. There’s smallest and oldest army in the world of the Swiss Guard.

2. Monaco

Monaco is the most densely populated country in the world and the second largest on the list of the smallest states in the world. Its area is 1.95 km2 and has about 35 000 inhabitants (2006), but many of them are interested only in citizenship for tax exemptions. This small principality located in the part of the Côte d’Azur near Nice and independent since the 13th century. Since the constitution adopted in 1911, Monaco is a parliamentary monarchy with a prince as head of state.

READ:  Koumos - Surprising Handmade Discovery

3. San Marino

San Marino is the third on the list of the smallest states in Europe. It has a surface of 61 km2 and is completely surrounded by the territory of Italy. It`s one of the oldest countries in the world and dates back 301 years when it was part of the Roman Empire. Before the Second World War was one of the poorest countries in Europe, today San Marino lives from tourism and is one of the richest countries in the world.

Smallest States is a new challenge for you

4. Nauru

The Republic of Nauru is an island country in the Pacific Ocean and is on the list of the smallest states outside Europe and the smallest republic in the world. Surface is 21 km2 and has about 9300 inhabitants (2010). It`s the only country in the world that does not have the capital.

5. Tuvalu

This island state the total area of 26 km2 is located in the Pacific Ocean south of Kiribati and north of Fiji. It consists of nine coral islands in the series, and the highest elevation is 5 m, so due to rising sea level, this country could disappear in 50 years. The highest revenues of the state are renting their internet domains.

READ:  Houston - Yours Infinite Possibilities

6. Liechtenstein

The Principality of Liechtenstein is also one of the smallest states and landlocked country in Europe. It borders with Switzerland to the west and Austria to the east. Due to its mountainous terrain is one of the favorite winter destinations for tourists. Despite its small surface area of 160 km2 Liechtenstein is not very urbanized (such as, for instance, the Principality of Monaco).

7. Marshall Islands

Republic of the Marshall Islands is an island country in the Pacific Ocean a total area of 181 km2, is composed of 29 atolls and 5 isolated islands. This is a fairly new country since independence gained only in 1986 when it split from the USA. Marshall Islands are one of the world’s best destinations for divers because of its beautiful underwater world and shipwrecks from the Second World War.

8. Saint Kitts and Nevis

St. Kitts and Nevis is located in the Caribbean Sea and consists of two islands (St Kitts and Nevis). The islands are mainly of volcanic origin and the total area of the country is 261 km2. Independence from Great Britain acquired in 1983 as a parliamentary monarchy. Christopher Columbus on his second voyage in 1493 landed on the larger island and called it, according to the patron saint, St. Kitts. A smaller island is called Nevis.

READ:  Paris: The City of Love and Light